Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Late 20th Century Resources
ACTUP Oral History Project
This collection includes more than 100 interviews with members of ActUP a diverse, non-partisan group of individuals united in anger
and committed to direct action to end the AIDS crisis.
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Historical collections for the National Digital Library, from the Library of Congress. Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Presidency Project
This collection, from the University of California, Santa Barbara, contains more than 85,000 documents pertaining to the presidency. The items span all eras of American history and range from the public papers of George Washington to the victory speech of Barack Obama.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Its coverage spand from 4000bce to the 21st century.
Battle Lines: Letters from America's Wars
From the website: "This online exhibition of letters and audio, created by the Gilder Lehrman Institute and the Legacy Project, features correspondence from over 200 years of American conflicts, ranging from the Revolution to the war in Iraq.
Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum
Currently the Digital Library collection of the Carter presidential library includes papers from the Office of the Chief of Staff and the Office of Staff Secretary during the Carter Administration. The collection has been selected in whole or in part and digitized for web access.
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials from 1952-2012
The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
This digital collection was compiled by the Special Libraries at Duke University. The holdings touch upon a variety of aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States. They focus on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
Experiencing War: Serving in Silence
This collection, part of the Library of Congress's Veterans History Project presents the stories of gau service men and women who served their country " while balancing the need to keep their private lives private."
Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection
This collection from the Library of Congress includes man interviews that involve post-World War II diplomacy, from the late 1940s to the present day, but the collection also includes accounts of Americans involved in Iraq and Afghanistan after 2003
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This collection, from the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, features images, texts and maps that illustrate the African-American migration experience.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
The Life photo archive, hosted by Google's Image Search, features millions of photographs from the magazine's archives. You can search the database keyword or by category. Those categories include: time period, people, places, events, sports and culture.
Moving Images Archives
The Prelinger Archvies, housed at The Internet Archive, represents a collection of tens of thousands of advertising,educational, industrial and amateur films.
National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt,. Its holdings date back to 1775.
National Indian Law Library
This digital public law library, a project of The Native American Rights Fund, is devoted to Federal native American and tribal law.
Picturing the Century : Galleries
This collection from the National Archives tells the story of the 20th century United States in pictures. Among the images you'll find here are pictures of an Easter Parade on New York's 5th Avenue in 1900 and one of President Bill Clinton playing a saxophone.
Presidential Oral History - Miller Center for Public Affiars
From the website: The Presidential Oral History Program is systematically and comprehensively debriefing the principal figures in the administrations of Presidents Carter, Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and Clinton, with plans to do the same for future presidents.
Press Freedom Online - Committee to Protect Journalists
This site contains a database of journalists imprisoned while covering the story or killed in the line of work since 1992. The search interface allows you to explore incidents by year and geographic area.
U.S. Electoral College Box Scores
The National Archives and Records administration maintains a site devoted to Historical Election Results. Included on this page are the results of the electoral college votes dating back to 1789.
Veterans' History Project
This site, from the U.S. Library of Congress, contains photographs, correspondence and personal narratives from participants in World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, Persian Gulf War and the Afghanistan and Iraq wars.
Women's Political Communication Archive
From the website: “The Archives of Women's Political Communication consists of a website developed to guide scholars to present and past speeches of women political leaders.”