Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
21st Century Resources
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Historical collections for the National Digital Library, from the Library of Congress. Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Presidency Project
This collection, from the University of California, Santa Barbara, contains more than 85,000 documents pertaining to the presidency. The items span all eras of American history and range from the public papers of George Washington to the victory speech of Barack Obama.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Its coverage spand from 4000bce to the 21st century.
Battle Lines: Letters from America's Wars
From the website: "This online exhibition of letters and audio, created by the Gilder Lehrman Institute and the Legacy Project, features correspondence from over 200 years of American conflicts, ranging from the Revolution to the war in Iraq.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
This Collection, from the University of Michigan Law School, is a collection of documents and information about civil rights cases in selected case categories across the United States.
Experiencing War: Serving in Silence
This collection, part of the Library of Congress's Veterans History Project presents the stories of gau service men and women who served their country " while balancing the need to keep their private lives private."
Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection
This collection from the Library of Congress includes man interviews that involve post-World War II diplomacy, from the late 1940s to the present day, but the collection also includes accounts of Americans involved in Iraq and Afghanistan after 2003
History of the American West (American Memory, Library of Congress)
This collection, which is part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project, features more than 30,000 photographs from the Western History and Genealogy Department at the Denver Public Library. Taken between 1860 and 1920, those photographs depict mining in Colorado and the West, the lives of Native American people living west of the Rockies and the towns and landscape of Colorado.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This collection, from the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, features images, texts and maps that illustrate the African-American migration experience.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
The Life photo archive, hosted by Google's Image Search, features millions of photographs from the magazine's archives. You can search the database keyword or by category. Those categories include: time period, people, places, events, sports and culture.
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials from 1952-2012
The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.
National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States
This website provides access to the full text of the 9/11 Commission Report which describes the circumstances surrounding the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attack on the United States and details the response to the attack.
National Archives and Records Administration
From the NARA website: "The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. They capture the sweep of the past: slave ship manifests and the Emancipation Proclamation..."
National Indian Law Library
This digital public law library, a project of The Native American Rights Fund, is devoted to Federal native American and tribal law.
Presidential Oral History - Miller Center for Public Affiars
From the website: The Presidential Oral History Program is systematically and comprehensively debriefing the principal figures in the administrations of Presidents Carter, Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and Clinton, with plans to do the same for future presidents.
Press Freedom Online - Committee to Protect Journalists
This site contains a database of journalists imprisoned while covering the story or killed in the line of work since 1992. The search interface allows you to explore incidents by year and geographic area.
The September 11 Digital Archive
This site, from the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning allows visitors to add their own personal stories, e-mails images, documents and other digital objects to the electronic record of September 11.2001.
U.S. Electoral College Box Scores
The National Archives and Records administration maintains a site devoted to Historical Election Results. Included on this page are the results of the electoral college votes dating back to 1789.
Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
This site, from the U.S. Library of Congress, contains photographs, correspondence and personal narratives from participants in World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, Persian Gulf War and the Afghanistan and Iraq wars.
ACTUP Oral History Project
This collection includes more than 100 interviews with members of ActUP a diverse, non-partisan group of individuals united in anger
and committed to direct action to end the AIDS crisis.
Women's Political Communication Archive
From the website: “The Archives of Women's Political Communication consists of a website developed to guide scholars to present and past speeches of women political leaders.”