Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Gran Diccionario Oxford Compiled by expert teams of Spanish and English lexicographers, the Oxford Spanish Dictionary provides the richest, most contemporary coverage of Spanish from around the world. The result of thorough research using sophisticated computer programs to search for new terminology and ensure that all the latest vocabulary from Latin American Spanish and American English is covered, this brand new edition covers over 24 varieties of Spanish as it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish-speaking world-from Spain to Mexico, from Peru to the River Plate. This groundbreaking edition of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary features 20,000 new entries (10,000 in each language), with the updating focused particularly on business, IT, and scientific terminology. Special entries on life and culture explain the differences between institutions, administrative systems, educational systems, and general life in the Spanish and English-speaking worlds, offering vital background to the language. Also, for a limited time only, all OSD's will be packaged with a free CD that contains cutting-edge text-to-speech software. This software enables users to type in any word, phrase, question, or date, and an audio version of the text will immediately pronounce it with appropriate inflection. No other Spanish dictionary offers this revolutionary software. With a newly designed user-friendly format, the dictionary is more accessible than ever. Each entry is in color making it easy for the reader to distinguish between and search for words. With half of the entries in English and half in Spanish (including the front matter), the Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the ideal reference for native speakers of either language. Handy, easy-to-use, and wide-ranging, this dictionary is also the essential tool for all students and teachers, as well as translators and language professionals. Jacket covers are also available in Spanish.
Call Number: REF PC4640 .O94 2003
Spanish-English Dictionary Barron's is now taking a comprehensive approach to foreign-language reference volumes, this definitive Spanish-English dictionary and a companion French-English dictionary being to prime examples. This book features 100, 000 entries with translations, and makes an ideal reference book for schools, libraries, businesses, and the home bookshelf. Yet its manageable size and reasonable price also makes it a practical learning tool for students taking a Spanish language course. It features: Two full-length sections: English to Spanish and Spanish to English American-style English translations of all Spanish entries Headwords printed in a second color for easy reference with translations, parts of speech, and pronunciation guide printed in black Exemplary phrases using headwords in standard contexts Separate bilingual lists for numerals, phonetics symbols, abbreviations, and geographical names This all-inclusive dictionary also features full-color atlas-style maps, a concise grammar guide, a regular verb conjugation list, and many more language learning aids. Here is a complete and up-to-date bilingual dictionary for libraries, schools, and the home. It can also serve as a helpful take-along book for international travelers. FREE eBOOK VERSION available with purchase! A key feature that sets Barron's Spanish-English Dictionary apart from others is the FREE downloadable electronic version of the print dictionary. Users will find information in the back of each book that instructs them how to download a copy onto their PC's, including Macs. Here's a great feature for students and travelers.
Call Number: REF PC4640 .S593 2006
Webster's New World English-Spanish/Spanish-English Business Dictionary the most complete and up-to-date bilingual business dictionary available--over 80,000 entries Habla espa?ol?/ Do you speak Spanish? Habla ingles? / Do you speak English? Habla de negocios? / Do you speak business? The business world has a language all its own. Accounting, finance, banking, real estate, insurance, and other business-related fields have specialized terminology. As more and more English-speaking professionals do business with Spanish-speaking professionals, and vice versa, the ability to speak "business" in both languages is essential. This authoritative, comprehensive reference helps bridge the language gap for professionals conducting business in both Spanish and English with: * More than 80,000 entries--business terms currently used in each language * Terms covering every area of international business: accounting, advertising, commerce, economics, e-commerce, finance, international trade, tax, securities, banking, real estate, management, insurance, and more * A user-friendly format designed for quick reference * Up-to-date information, including current e-commerce terms and common acronyms * Word-for-word and phrase-for-phrase translations This is a reference business professionals will rely on again and again because in today's global marketplace, companies can't afford to let language barriers be business barriers.
ISBN: REF HF1002 .K375 2006
Larousse Concise Dictionary - Spanish-English Offering extensive, up-to-date coverage of general and professional Spanish, this newly revised edition includes more than 90,000 entries and 120,000 translations to help nonnative speakers express themselves clearly and accurately. A clean layout and detailed treatment of words ensure accurate translation and allow the user to grasp the important nuances of the language quickly. This newest edition includes 90,000 words and phrases 120,000 translations updated vocabulary in all subject areas idioms and grammatical constructions abbreviations, acronyms, and proper nouns generous coverage of Latin American terms regional Latin American labels an extended supplement on life and culture in Latin America 20 percent larger than in the previous edition.
Call Number: PC4640 .L38 2004
Medieval Iberia As the first comprehensive reference to the vital world of medieval Spain, this unique volume focuses on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista. The nearly 1,000 signed A-Z entries, written by renowned specialists in the field, encompass topics of key relevance to medieval Iberia, including people, events, works, and institutions, as well as interdisciplinary coverage of literature, language, history, arts, folklore, religion, and science. Also providing in-depth discussions of the rich contributions of Muslim and Jewish cultures, and offering useful insights into their interactions with Catholic Spain, this comprehensive work is an invaluable tool for students, scholars, and general readers alike. For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia website.
Call Number: REF DP99 .M33 2003
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues. Culture is defined in its broadest sense. Entries include: *Antonio Gaudí * science * Antonio Banderas * golf * dance * education * politics * racism * urbanization This Encyclopedia is essential reading for anyone interested in Spanish culture. It provides essential cultural context for students of Spanish, European History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean The Encyclopedia examines urgent contemporary issues like economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, as well as the long-term factors that have moulded Latin America as we find it today: the native flora and fauna, the emergence of early civilisations in Mexico and Peru, imperial domination over three centuries by Spain and Portugal, the struggle for independence in the nineteenth century, and the political turbulence of the twentieth. Coverage is provided also of music and literature, architecture, painting, and intellectual life, vividly reminding us that beyond today's headlines lies the culture of the tango and the samba, Borges and Neruda, Garcia Mrquez and Diego Rivera, Villa Lobos and Bob Marley.
Call Number: REF F1406 .C36 1992
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica. Written for a wide audience, it is an invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from 500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals. An extensive network of cross-references, blind entries, and annotated bibliographies guide the reader to related entries within the Encyclopedia and provide the groundwork for further research.
Call Number: Call No. Status Reference Stacks F1218.6 .O95 2001