Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collins Robert French College Dictionary, 7e Color headings, translation tips, a comprehensive section on communication, and a brand-new supplement with encyclopedic information on famous French people make the Collins Robert French College Dictionary ideal for intermediate to advanced learners of French. With over 350,000 references and translations, the Collins Robert French College Dictionary is ideal for students and professionals. Drawing on Collins' unique multi-million word databases of French and English, the Collins Robert French College Dictionary offers the most complete and accurate picture of the French language as it is used today. This edition also allows learners to expand their knowledge with web-links to cultural information and a new section on famous French, British and American personalities. With this seventh edition you will: Speak confidently: This edition offers the latest vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including IT, cell phones, and computers—language crucial for today's lifestyle. Get it right: The in-depth treatment of regular and irregular verbs (such as avoir, faire, aller, and venir) as well as practical tips on spoken and written French make this dictionary the ideal tool for intermediate to advanced learners. Get there fast: The accessible color layout ensures that you will find the information you need quickly and easily.
Call Number: REF PC2640 .C69 2008
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary Acclaimed by language professionals the world over, the Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary leads the field. The dictionary is based on the statistical evidence of vast electronic databanks of real language, both written and spoken, making it the most comprehensive, reliable, and up-to-date dictionary of French and English available today. And now, it has even better coverage of the language, with improved treatment of acronyms and EU terminology, as well as thousands of new words in bothEnglish and French. The dictionary is a must for any serious student of the French language. It is tailored to the needs of the market in consultation with key academic advisors. This edition contains even more useful information for the language student abroad - sample bills and rent agreements help you orientate yourself in a new culture. Alternatively, it is an essential reference tool for the shelves of a second home. It is the most up-to-date and complete French dictionary of its size.
Call Number: REF PC2640 .O83 2007
Medieval France The first single-volume reference work on the history and culture of medieval France, this information-filledEncyclopediaof over 2,400 entries covers the political, intellectual, literary, and musical history of the country from the early fifth century to the late 15th. The shorter entries offer succinct summaries of the lives of individuals, events, works, cities, monuments, and other important subjects, followed by essential bibliographies. Longer essay-length articles provide interpretive comments about significant institutions and important periods or events. TheEncyclopediais thoroughly cross-referenced and includes a generous selection of illustrations, maps, charts, and genealogies Major Features:Over 2,400 entries on musical, intellectual, literary, and political history; Coverage from the first through 15th centuries; Concise entries on people, events, works, sites, and monuments; Longer essays on important institutions, themes, and events; Over 200 photographs and 45drawings illustrate the information presented; Some 14 charts and 16 detailed maps add depth to the coverage; Extensive coverage of music-some 75,000 words The Encyclopedia is especially strong in its coverage of: Economic Issues: taxation, agriculture, women in trade, banking and money lending, merchants;Women: Marie de France, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Jeanne d'Arc, Christine de Pizan, Heloise;Art:Gothic art and architecture, ivories, Romanesque art, stained glass, tapestry;Music:Isorhythmic motet, musical instruments, cyclic mass, vidas and razos, refrain, Latin and vernacular hymns;Religion:Benedictine Order, eucharistic veneration and vessels, heresy, monasticism;Literature:brief pieces on lesser-known works and long essays on genres like fabliau, chanson de geste, romance, drama;History:political figures, military leaders, daily life-food, health care, crime and punishment, families.
Call Number: REF DC33.2 .M44 1995
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture More than 700 alphabetically organized entries by an international team of contributors provide a fascinating survey of French culture post 1945. Entries include: * advertising * Beur cinema * Coco Chanel * decolonization * écriture feminine * football * francophone press * gay activism * Seuil * youth culture Entries range from short factual/biographical pieces to longer overview articles. All are extensively cross-referenced and longer entries are 'facts-fronted' so important information is clear at a glance. It includes a thematic contents list, extensive index and suggestions for further reading. The Encyclopedia will provide hours of enjoyable browsing for all francophiles, and essential cultural context for students of French, Modern History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies.