Phone numbers and email addresses for the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement are:
Leona O'Neil, Administrative Assistant
This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for gender and sexuality studies. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about Reference hours and how you can contact the librarians or make an appointment research assistance.
Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library. If you are studying remotely and would like an entry from a reference work, please contact me.
Books and Videos - This page will give you access to our library catalog, HillSearch and WorldCat. Use HillSearch to locate itmes in the library collection: books, eBooks, streaming videos, government documents, and more. The WorldCat database contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. Use this in conjunction with our Interlibrary Loan service to request items not available in the MacPhaidin library.
Journals / Articles - This page will explain how to locate articles in the library in addition to an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for Gender and Sexuality studies. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and Interlibrary Loan via ILLiad.
Web Sites - This page provides links to reputable online collections and websites, including those from advocacy groups and non-profit organizations.
Statistical Sources - Links to general and subject specific online statistical websites.
Citing Your Research - Your professor will likely specify which citation style they want used. This page will provide you access to a number of the most frequently-used citation styles. This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.
In order to comply with state COVID-19 safety regulations, building occupancy will be reduced this spring. Call The Desk at 508-565-1313 to find out whether the building is at capacity. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.
Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.