Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Association of University Women
The research link provides access to reports about women in education. From their site: “AAUW conducts groundbreaking research that draws national attention to issues of gender equity in education and the workplace…Recent reports address topics such as the pay gap between men and women, economic security of older women, sexual harassment on college campuses, and gender equity in science and engineering education.”
American Civil Liberties Union - LGBT Rights
This is the website for the ACLU’s LGBT Project. From the site: “The LGBT Project fights discrimination and moves public opinion through the courts, legislatures and public education across five issue areas: Relationships, Youth & Schools, Parenting, Gender Identity and Expression and Discrimination in Employment, Housing and other areas.” Check out the tabs – cases, news, legal documents, multimedia and more…
BBC News- Country Profiles
Full profiles of individual countries, covering history, politics and economic background of each country and territory, and background on key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
ILGA International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association
Established in 1978, ILGA enjoys consultative status at the UN ECOSOC Council, publishes an annual world report and a map on legislation criminalizing or protecting people on the basis of their sexual orientation or recognizing their relationships. (from web site0
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
A leading international organization dedicated to human rights advocacy on behalf of people who experience discrimination or abuse on the basis of their actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender identity or expression. (from web site)
International Women's Websites
A list of noteworthy women's sites focused outside the U.S. and English-speaking Canada.
Make Every Women Count
Make Every Woman Count (MEWC) is an African woman-led organization which serves as a mobilizing, networking, information, advocacy and training platform for African women by building their leadership capacities to influence policy and decision making. MEWC works to strengthen the voice, impact and influence of African women’s rights advocates and organizations. (website)
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. You can create a report or compare by country, topic and groups.
United Nations - Home Page
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
United States Department of State
The Department of State advises the President and leads the Nation in foreign policy issues to advance freedom and democracy for the American people and the international community. To this end, the Department compiles research on American overseas interests, disseminates information on foreign policy to the public, negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign nations, and represents the United States in the United Nations and other international organizations and conferences.
This collection from Duke University presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Discovering American American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. (website)
Library of Congress American Memory Collection - Women's History-
The Library of Congress has 7 Women’s history collections inclusive of broadsides and printed ephemera (between 1600-2000); Women’s suffrage (books and pamphlets between 1848-1921), photographs and prints (between 1850-1920)… Great for archives and primary documents
Working Women, 1800-1930
Consists of 3,500 fully-digitized versions of books, pamphlets, and consumer trade catalogs; 7,500 pages of manuscripts, and 1,100 photographs from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums, focusing on women's roles in the U.S. economy between the early 19th century and the Great Depression selected from Harvard University's libraries, archives, and museums.