Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Subject Encyclopedias Located in the Reference Collection
For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference materials are for use only in the library, but you can scan or copy pages.
Because the study of sociology extends over many social issues the subject encyclopeidias listed below would be a starting point for your research.
Print and Online Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by
Call Number: REF P96.S5 E53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by
Call Number: Reference Collection HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
Publication Date: 2003
This three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Call Number: REF HM425 .E5 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion in addition to articles topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Feminist Writers by
Call Number: REF PN451 .F45 1996
Publication Date: 1996-09-17
This comprehensive reference works provides biographical, bibliographical and critical information on 300 authors whose works reflect trends in feminist thought.
Gender and Elections by
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 G444 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-16
The updated edition of this book describes the role of gender in the American electoral process through the 2008 elections. It strikes a balance between highlighting the most important developments for women as voters and candidates in the 2008 elections and providing a deeper analysis of the ways that gender has helped shape electoral politics in the United States. Individual chapters demonstrate the importance of gender in understanding presidential elections, voter participation and turnout, voting choices, the participation of African American women, congressional elections, the support of political parties and women's organizations, candidate communications with voters, and state elections. This updated volume also includes new chapters that analyze the roles of Latinas in US politics and chronicle the candidacies of Hillary Clinton and Sarah Palin.
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: Electronic
Publication Date: 2006
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in contex
Women's Studies Encyclopedia by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1999-05-30
A multidisciplinary reference tool on all facets of the female condition. With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions.