LibGuides: EDU 215: Language & Literacy in Special Education: Finding Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The world's largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communication and the General Sciences. Covers 1980 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports from the field of psychology and from psychological aspects of other disciplines. Journal coverage is 1887 to the present, with material from over 1300 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present.
Sage Online Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE online journals has more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
SocINDEX with FullText This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. It also provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Some content is available in full text.

If the library has a subscription to the electronic version for the journal, you should have access to the article. Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles that you are not able to access online.

Finding Articles in Education

Finding Journal Articles When You Have A Citation

Search by journal title to access the catalog record. The record lists the database(s) and years the journal is available electronically as well information on print and microforms holdings.

Interlibrary Loan

If Stonehill does not own the book, book chapter, or article you need, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan Department. Please visit the Interlibrary Loan page on the library website to order materials or sign up for an account. Need help with a request or your Interlibrary Loan account? Contact librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu. Due to the possibility of mail delays, please order your items as soon as possible.