EDU 215: Language & Literacy in Special Education: Books in our Catalog

Comprehensive, authoritative, and designed for practical utility, this handbook presents evidence-based approaches for helping struggling readers and those at risk for literacy difficulties or delays. Leading experts explain how current research on all aspects of literacy translates into innovative classroom practices. Chapters include clear descriptions of effective interventions for word recognition, spelling, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and writing, complete with concrete examples and teaching scripts. Coverage also encompasses preschool literacy instruction and interventions for older readers, English language learners, and students with learning disabilities, as well as peer-mediated and tutoring approaches.

A highly regarded teacher resource and widely adopted text, this book is grounded in current knowledge about literacy teaching and learning in grades PreK-8. The field's leading authorities present accessible recommendations for best practices that can be tailored to fit specific classroom circumstances and student populations. Provided are strategies for helping all students succeed--including struggling readers and English language learners--and for teaching each of the major components of literacy. The book also addresses ways to organize instruction and innovative uses of technology. Chapters include concrete examples, Engagement Activities, and resources for further learning.

Topics covered include: the centrality of literacy to school success; writing systems as a springboard to reading; the nature of reading disabilities; the implementation of new literacy programs; ways of fostering reading comprehension; contemporary approaches to assessment; suggestions for some common ground for those with holistic and traditional views.

This definitive volume provides state-of-the-art summaries of current research by leading specialists in different areas of cognitive development. Forms part of a series of four Blackwell Handbooks in Developmental Psychology spanning infancy to adulthood. Covers all the major topics in research and theory about childhood cognitive development. Synthesizes the latest research findings in an accessible manner. Includes chapters on abnormal cognitive development and theoretical perspectives, as well as basic research topics.

Understanding Language and Literacy Development: Diverse Learners in the Classroom offers effective supporting strategies to address the cultural and linguistic diversity of students in contemporary classrooms. Discusses learners with different linguistic abilities--infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence--by suggesting effective ways to reach them based on their strengths and needs. Emphasizes language and literacy supporting strategies in a variety of everyday classroom settings Includes activities and questions to motivate readers to think and develop their own perspectives on language and literacy development. Considers a variety of different language acquisition experiences, including monolingual, multilingual, and language impairment. Discusses different types of literacies, including digital and hypertext. Connects language and literacy development to identity and motivation to contextualize learning styles for pre-service teachers.

The first teacher training text to cover all four learning disabilities that require differentiated instruction -- dysgraphia, dyslexia, dyscalculia, and oral and written language learning disability (OWL LD)-- this book prepares educators to deliver explicit and engaging instruction customized to the needs of their students.

This book supplies classroom-tested instructional strategies that address the characteristics of and challenges faced by students with special needs. Dozens of differentiated strategies target teachers' anxieties and provide responsive interventions that can be used to address specifics of IEPs and learning plans.

This book shows schools how to address difficulties with literacy learning experienced by students of diverse backgrounds, by employing strategies that respond to and affirm difference. This responsive approach actively engages with students prior knowledge and experiences and ensures that these are fully validated in the literacy activities of the classroom. The responsive approach includes members of students' homes and communities collaborating to facilitate their participation in defining and delivering literacy programs. This book illustrates ways in which teachers and other adults can create responsive social contexts at school and at home, to enable all children to participate fully in reading, writing and oral language activities in the classroom.