Skip to main content

Chicago 17th: Audio: Audio

Format of Footnote

FOOTNOTE FORMAT 

Footnotes go at the bottom of the page where the reference occurs. 

Within the essay text: put the note number at the end of the sentence where the reference occurs, even if the cited material is mentioned at the beginning of the sentence. 

The note number goes after all other punctuation. 

Be sure to use Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3) not Roman (i, ii, iii). 

Single space each entry; double space between entries. 

Indent the first line of each note. 

Never reuse a number - use a new number for each reference, even if you have used that reference previously. 

Use a shortened form examples for sources you refer to more than once. 

To cite multiple sources in a single note, separate the two citations with a semicolon. Never use two note numbers at the end of a sentence. 

CHICAGO Audio

INDIVIDUAL SONG  

Please consult CMOS (sec. 14.276) 

PATTERN 

Artist First Name Last Name, “Title of Song,” from, Title of CD, Publisher Standard number, Year, Medium. 

FOOTNOTE 

Lady Gaga, “Poker Face,” from, The Fame, Interscope, B0011805-02, 2008, compact disc.  

PATTERN 

Artist Last Name, First Name. “Title of Song.” From Title of CD. Publisher Standard number, Year, Medium.  

BIBLIOGRAPHY  

Lady Gaga. “Poker Face.” From The Fame. Interscope B0011805-02, 2008, compact disc. 


ENTIRE MUSICAL CD 

Please consult the CMOS (sec. 14.276) 

PATTERN 

#. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of CD, original date recorded, Publisher standard number, year, medium. Original release date. 

FOOTNOTE 

3. The Beatles, Yellow Submarine, recorded 1966-Oct. 1968, Capital Records 0946 3 82467 2 5, 2009, 2009, compact disc. Originally released in 1968. 

PATTERN 

Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of CD. Original date recorded. Publisher standard number, year, medium. Original release date. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

The Beatles. Yellow Submarine. Recorded 1966- Oct. 1968. Capital Records 0946 3 82467 2 5, 2009, compact disc. Originally released in 1968. 

 

INDIVIDUAL SONG  

Please consult CMOS (sec. 14.276) 

PATTERN  

Artist First Name Last Name, “Title of Song,” by writer(s) of the song, Title of CD, Publisher, Year, Medium, date downloaded, Vendor. 

FOOTNOTE 

Lady Gaga, “Poker Face,” by Lady Gaga and RedOne, The Fame (US Version), Streamline/Interscope, 2008, MP3 file, downloaded July 29, 2015, iTunes. 


PATTERN 

Artist Last Name, First Name. “Title of Song.” By writer(s) of the song. Title of CD. Publisher Year, Medium. Date downloaded, Vendor. 
 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Lady Gaga. “Poker Face.” By Lady Gaga and RedOne. The Fame (US Version). Streamline/Interscope 2008, MP3 file. Downloaded July 29, 2015. iTunes. 


ENTIRE WORK 

Please Consult CMOS (sec. 14.276) 

PATTERN 

#. Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work, medium, date downloaded, Vendor.  

FOOTNOTE 

13. Pink Floyd. The Dark Side of The Moon Experience Edition (2011 - Remaster), MP3 file, downloaded July 30, 2015, Amazon.com. 

PATTERN 

Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Medium. Date downloaded, Vendor.  

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Pink Floyd. The Dark Side of The Moon Experience Edition (2011 - Remaster). MPs file. Downloaded July 30, 2015, Amazon.com. 

 

SINGLE PIECE – FROM PRINT BOOK

PATTERN

#. Composer’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Score,” Name of Musical Work, ed First Name Last Name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date), page.

FOOTNOTE

4. Claude DeBussy, “Le vent dans la plaine,” Preludes, ed Pierre Marchand (Paris: Durnad, ca 1910), 8.

PATTERN

Composer’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Score.” Name of Musical Work. Edited by First Name Last. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

DeBussy Claude. “Le vent dans la plaine.” Preludes. Edited by Pierre Marchand. Paris: Durnad, ca 1910.

PUBLICATION DATE 

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name. “Title of Podcast Episode,” Date, in Web Site, produced by First Name Last Name, podcast, format, duration, URL. 
 
FOOTNOTE 

Erik Larson, “StoryCorn,” November 4, 2017, in How to Do Everything, produced by Candace Martel, podcast, MP3 audio, 17:09, https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/national-public-radio/npr-how-to-do-everything-podcast/e/48150378. 

 
PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Podcast Episode.” Date. In Web Site. Produced by First Name Last Name. Podcast, format, duration. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Larson, Erik. “StoryCorn.” November 4, 2017. In How to Do Everything. Produced by Candace Martel. Podcast, MP3 audio, 17:09. https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/national-public-radio/npr-how-to-do-everything-podcast/e/48150378. 


NO PUBLICATION DATE  

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name and First Name Last Name, “Title of Podcast Episode,”  Title of Podcast Web Site, podcast, format, duration, accessed date, URL. 

FOOTNOTE 

1. Ben Curtis and Marina Diez, “Heading to the Costa de la Luz -71,” Notes from Spain: Travel-Life-Culture, podcast, MP3 audio, 27:8, accessed March 30, 2009, http://www.notesfromspain.com/2008/05/22/heading-to-the- costa-de-la-luz-notes-from-spain-podcast-71/. 

PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name. “Title of Podcast Episode.” Title of Podcast Web Site. Podcast, format, duration. Access date. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Curtis, Ben, and Marina Diez. “Heading to the Costa de la Luz – 71.” Notes from Spain Travel-Life-Culture. Podcast, MP3 audio, 27:8. Accessed March 30, 2009. http://www.notesfromspain.com/2008/05/22/heading-to-the- costa-de-la-luz-notes-from-spain-podcast-71/. 

 
If the word “podcast” is included in the title of the podcast, there is no need to repeat it enclosed in commas after that title.  

 

PATTERN 

#. Author First Name Last Name, Liner Notes, Title of CD, Publisher Standard number, Year, medium. 

FOOTNOTE 

3. John Morgan, Liner Notes, Garden of Evil, Marco-Polo 8.223841, 1996, compact disc. 

 

PATTERN  

Author Last Name, First Name. Liner Notes. Title of CD. Publisher standard number. Year, medium.  

BIBLIOGRAPHY  

Morgan, John. Liner Notes. Garden of Evil. Marco-Polo 8.223841. 1996, compact disc. 

EXAMPLES OF ARRANGEMENT OF AUTHORS

Authors’ names are arrange is the following format for both books and journal entries.

Use “an,” not an ampersand, “&,” for multi-author entries.

One author

Footnote
Joseph Callahan,

Bibliography 
Callahan, Joseph.

 

Two to Three Authors

Footnote
Mary Callahan and Fred Silver,

Bibliography 
Callahan, Mary and Fred Silver.

 

Four to Ten Authors

In the bibliography write out all of the authors, in the notes only write out the first author plus “et al".
Footnote
Charles F. Curley et al.,

Bibliography
Curley, Charles F., Mary Joan Smith, Christopher Kendris, Jennifer Burns, and Heather Pearson.

Include the following elements when citing a musical recording: 

The name of the composer, writer, performer, or other person primarily responsible for the content. 

  •     The official title of the CD/Album, in italics. Titles of songs are set in quotation marks. 
  •     The name of the recording company or publisher. 
  •     Any identifying number of the recording. 
  •     Indication of medium (compact disc, audiocassette, audiovisual file, etc.).  
  •      Copyright date or date of production or performance.
  •      Online recording should include a URL or DOI.  

Supplementary information, such as the number of discs in an album and the duration of the recording, as applicable, may also be given. 

CMOS (section 14.276) 

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility