Skip to main content

Chicago 17th Ed: Magazines and Newspapers: Newspapers & Magazines

Format of Footnote

FOOTNOTE FORMAT 

Footnotes go at the bottom of the page where the reference occurs. 

Within the essay text: put the note number at the end of the sentence where the reference occurs, even if the cited material is mentioned at the beginning of the sentence. 

The note number goes after all other punctuation. 

Be sure to use Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3) not Roman (i, ii, iii). 

Single space each entry; double space between entries. 

Indent the first line of each note. 

Never reuse a number - use a new number for each reference, even if you have used that reference previously. 

Use a shortened form examples for sources you refer to more than once. 

To cite multiple sources in a single note, separate the two citations with a semicolon. Never use two note numbers at the end of a sentence. 

CHICAGO Magazines and Newspapers

ONE AUTHOR 

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Magazine, Month Day, year, p. 


FOOTNOTE 

7. Adam Rogers, “Thinking Differently: Brain Scans Give New Hope of Diagnosing ADHA,” Newsweek, December 7, 1998, 60.  

 
PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year. 

 
BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Rogers, Adam. “Thinking Differently: Brain Scans Give New Hope of Diagnosing ADHD.” Newsweek, December 7, 1998. 

ONE AUTHOR  

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Magazine, Month Day, year, URL. 

FOOTNOTE 

7. Kate Abbott, “A Brief History of Intolerance in America,” Time, August 30, 2010, http://0-search.ebscohost.com/library.stonehill.edu. 

  

PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Month Year. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY  

Abbott, Kate. “A Brief History of Intolerance in America.” Time, August 30, 2010. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.stonehill.edu. 

TWO AUTHORS 

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name and Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year, URL. 

FOOTNOTE 

9. Wendy Cole and Janice Castro, “Scientology’s Largesse in Russia,” Time, April 13, 1992, http://www.time.com/time/magazine 

/article/0,9171,975290,00.html. 

 

PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name and Author's First Name Last Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Cole, Wendy and Janice Castro. “Scientology’s Largesse in Russia.” Time, April 13, 1992. http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,975290,00.html. 

 

ONE AUTHOR  

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of the Article,” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. 

FOOTNOTE 

8. Noah Bieman, “Senate Budget Mirrors House; Avoids Tax Hikes and Tapping into Rainy Day Fund,” Boston Globe, May 20, 2010.  

PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Bieman, Noah “Senate Budget Mirrors House Avoids Tax Hikes and Tapping into Rainy Day Fund.” Boston Globe, May 20, 2010. 


Newspaper articles may be cited in running text (“As Sheryl Stolberg and Robert Pear noted in a New York Times article on February 27, 2010, . . .”) instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography.  

Taken from the CMOS (sec 14.206) 

ONE AUTHOR  

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year, URL. 

FOOTNOTE 

5. Art Buchwald,  "They've Got a Little Hit List," Boston Globe (1960-1983), Mar 24, 1983. http://0-search.proquest.com.library.stonehill.edu 
/docview/1637368336?accountid=28725. 

PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. URL.  

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Buchwald, Art. "They've Got a Little Hit List." Boston Globe (1960-1983), Mar 24, 1983. http://0-search.proquest.com.library.stonehill.edu 
/docview/1637368336?accountid=28725. 

ONE AUTHOR  

PATTERN 

#. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of the Article,” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year, URL. 

FOOTNOTE  

8. Noah Bieman, “Senate Budget Mirrors House; Avoids Tax Hikes and Tapping into Rainy Day Fund,” Boston Globe, May 20, 2010, http://www.boston.com/news/local/massachusetts/articles/2010/05/20/senate_budget_mirrors_house/. 

 

PATTERN 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Bieman, Noah “Senate Budget Mirrors House Avoids Tax Hikes and Tapping into Rainy Day Fund.” Boston Globe, May 20, 2010.http://www.boston.com /news/local/massachusetts/articles/2010/05/20/senate_budget_mirrors_house/. 

 

Newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in running text (“As Sheryl Stolberg and Robert Pear noted in a New York Times article on February 27, 2010, . . .”) instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography.  

Taken from the CMOS (sec. 14.198) 

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility