Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago 17th: Media: Media

Format of Footnote

FOOTNOTE FORMAT 

Footnotes go at the bottom of the page where the reference occurs. 

Within the essay text: put the note number at the end of the sentence where the reference occurs, even if the cited material is mentioned at the beginning of the sentence. 

The note number goes after all other punctuation. 

Be sure to use Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3) not Roman (i, ii, iii). 

Single space each entry; double space between entries. 

Indent the first line of each note. 

Never reuse a number - use a new number for each reference, even if you have used that reference previously. 

Use a shortened form examples for sources you refer to more than once. 

To cite multiple sources in a single note, separate the two citations with a semicolon. Never use two note numbers at the end of a sentence. 

CHICAGO Media

PATTERN 

#. First Name Last Name of presenter, interviewee, journalist, or director, “Title of Video Clip,” Name of Collection, Date, medium, time, URL. 


FOOTNOTE 

4. John Harwood, “The Pros and Cons of Biden,” New York Times, August 23, 2008, video, 2:00, http://video.on.nytimes.com /?fr_story=a425c9aca92f51bd19f2a621fd93b5e266507191. 


PATTERN 

Last Name, First Name of presenter, interviewee, journalist, or director. “Title of Video Clip.” Name of Collection, Date, Medium, time. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Harwood, John. “The Pros and Cons of Biden.” New York Times, August 23, 2008, Video, 2:00. http://video.on.nytimes.com/?fr_story=a425c9aca92f51bd19f2a621fd93b5e266507191. 

PATTERN 

#. Director/Producer's Last Name, Author's First Name, Title of Video (Name of Publisher, Date), from Name of Database, format, duration of video, URL.  

FOOTNOTE 

#23. Amy S. Weber and Ryan Demetrak, Information Literacy: The Perils of Online Research (Cambridge Educational, 2006), from Films on Demand, video, 27.37, http://digital.films.com.library.stonehill.edu/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=17760&xtid=58373. 

Shortened Note: 

27. Title of Video. 

PATTERN 

Director/Producer’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Video. Name of Publisher, Date of Work. Format, From Name of Database. Duration of video. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Weber, Amy S., and Ryan Demetrak. Information Literacy: The Perils of Online Research. Cambridge Educational, 2006. Video. From Films on Demand. 27.37. http://digital.films.com.library.stonehill.edu/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=17760&xtid=58373. 

The Credits at the end of the video should provide the director and producer of the video.  

PATTERN 

#. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Video Clip," YouTube Video, Duration, Date, URL. 

FOOTNOTE 

34. Patrick Bet-David, “How to Research Any Topic,” YouTube Video, 17.20, June 1, 2017, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPbEznrOGR8. 

  

PATTERN 

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Video Clip." YouTube Video, Duration. Date. URL. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY  

Bet-David, Patrick. “How to Research Any Topic,”. YouTube Video, 17.20. June 1, 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPbEznrOGR8. 
 

ENTIRE MOVIE 

PATTERN  

#. Title of Movie, directed by First Name Last Name (original release date; Location: Distributor, Year), Format. 

 
FOOTNOTE  

5. Thelma & Louis, directed by Ridley Scott (1991; Santa Monica, CA: MGM Home Entertainment, 2004). DVD. 

PATTERN 

Title of Movie. Directed by First Name Last Name. Original release date; Location: Distributor, Year. Format. 
 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Thelma & Louise. Directed by Ridley Scott. 1991; Santa Monica, CA: MGM Home Entertainment, 2004. DVD. 


SCENE FROM A MOVIE 

PATTERN 

#. "Scene Title or Number," Title of Motion Picture, directed by First Name Last Name (original release date; Location: Distributor, Year), Format. 
 
FOOTNOTE 

5. “Cliff Scene,” Thelma & Louis, directed by Ridley Scott (1991; Santa Monica, CA: MGM Home Entertainment, 2004). DVD. 

 
PATTERN 

“Scene Title or Number.” Title of Motion Picture. Directed by First Name Last Name. Original release date; Location: Distributor, Year. Format. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

"Cliff Scene.” Thelma & Louise. Directed by Ridley Scott. 1991; Santa Monica, CA: MGM Home Entertainment, 2004. DVD. 

 

Title, director, studio, and year of release are all required. Also included the year the video recording was released if that is the resource you are citing.  

PATTERN 

#. Interviewee’s First Name Last Name, interviewed by Name of Interviewer First Name Last Name, Web Site, Date, URL. 

FOOTNOTE 

3. Russell Crowe, interviewed by Marc and Roy, HuffPost Show, April 11, 2015, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7A0PyKITdw. 

PATTERN 

Interviewee Last Name, First Name. Interviewed by Name of Interviewer First Name Last Name. Web Site, Date of interview. URL. 

 
BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Crowe, Russell. Interviewed by Marc and Roy. HuffPost Show, April 11, 2015. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7A0PyKITdw. 

EXAMPLES OF ARRANGEMENT OF AUTHORS

Authors’ names are arrange is the following format for both books and journal entries.

Use “an,” not an ampersand, “&,” for multi-author entries.

One author

Footnote
Joseph Callahan,

Bibliography 
Callahan, Joseph.

 

Two to Three Authors

Footnote
Mary Callahan and Fred Silver,

Bibliography 
Callahan, Mary and Fred Silver.

 

Four to Ten Authors

In the bibliography write out all of the authors, in the notes only write out the first author plus “et al".
Footnote
Charles F. Curley et al.,

Bibliography
Curley, Charles F., Mary Joan Smith, Christopher Kendris, Jennifer Burns, and Heather Pearson.

The CMOS suggests that if a URL or DOI has to be broken at the end of a line, the break should be made after a colon or a double slash (//); before a single slash (/), a tilde (~), a period, a comma, a hyphen, an underline (_), a question mark, a number sign, or a percent symbol; or before or after an equals sign or an ampersand. (CMOS 14.18)

Citations for multimedia usually include some or all of the following elements. Consult CMOS 14.267 for more detail.


If known, the name of the writer, interviewee, journalist, or director.

The title of work, in italics or quotation marks. Individual items such as scenes/chapters are set in quotations marks. The complete title of the video is italicized.  

When citing an interview, the words "interviewed by" and then the name(s) of the interviewer(s) should be included.  

Information about the work, including the name of additional contributors and the date and locate of the recording, production, or performance.

Information about the publisher, including date of publication. If no date can be determined from the source, include the date the material was accessed.

Information about the medium or format such as DVD, MP3. 

Any additional information that might relevant to the citation. 

If consulted online include a URL 

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility