Skip to main content

Creating Links to Articles/Media in Library Databases: Home

This guide will give you instructions for creating links to articles from the library's proprietary databases.

Why Use Persistent Links?

You must use persistent links - URLS or web addresses that don't change over time - in order for you and your students to access library resources from on or off-campus. Using persistent links also helps ensure you are complying with relevant copyright regulations when providing students access to materials. To create a persistent link, you will start with a our proxy server prefix and add the persistent link from the item in the library database.

Below, you will find information about creating persistent links for items found in the library catalog and many of the library databases.

If you have any questions about creating persistent links, contact The Desk at ext. 1313.

Constructing Persistent Links: A Two-Step Process

The library uses a method for off-campus access to resources called EZProxy. When you want to provide students with a link to an article or streaming media resource from our collections you must do the following:

1. locate the permanent link or stable URL 

2. add that permanent  link or stable URL to the EZProxy prefix - https://ezproxy.stonehill.edu/login?url=

Persistent Links in EBSCO

To create a persistent link from an item in an EBSCO database (Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, PsycINFO, etc):

1. When viewing an item record, click on the "permalink" link in the right-hand navigation bar (Fig. 1)

2. Copy the permalink provided by the database (Fig. 2)

3. Add that link to the EZProxy prefix

Persistent link for the item below is  https://exproxy.stonehill.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=100371705&site=ehost-live

Persistent Links in JSTOR

To create a persistent link to an item in JSTOR:

1. When viewing an item, copy the persistent link provided by the database (indicated by red arrow)

2. Add the persistent link to the EZProxy prefix

Persistent link for item pictured below is https://ezproxy.stonehill.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41511148

Persistent Links in ProQuest

To create a persistent link to an item in a ProQuest database (Historical New York Times and Boston Globe, Criminal Justice Database, etc)

1. When viewing an item, click on the "abstract/details" tab (indicated by red arrow in first image below)

2.When viewing abstract/details, scroll to the bottom of the record to the document URL (indicated by red arrow in second image below)

The persistent link for the item below is https://ezproxy.stonehill.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/2164137089?accountid=28725

 

Persistent Links in Gale

To create a persistent link to an item in a Gale database (InfoTrac, Educators Reference Complete, etc):

1. When viewing a record, click on the "Bookmark" link on the upper right hand of the screen (indicated by arrow 1. in image below)

2. Copy supplied bookmark URL provided (indicated by arrow 2. in image below)

3. Add bookmark URL to EXProxy prefix

Persistent URL for the item pictured below is https://ezproxy.stonehill.edu/login?url=http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A567426520/AONE?u=mlin_s_stonecol&sid=AONE&xid=49303916

Persistent Links in Kanopy

To create a persistent link to a streaming media resource in Kanopy:

1. From the Kanopy search interface, click on the item you wish to link to (show in first image below) 

2. From the item record, click on the share icon and then copy and paste the provided link (shown in second image below)

The persistent link for the item shown below is https://ezproxy.stonehill.edu/login?url=https://stonehill.kanopy.com/video/amy

 

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility