LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion At Stonehill College: Background / Best Practices

D, E & I Implementation Across a University Campus

Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT)
A comprehensive, national and community-based process to plan for and bring about transformational and sustainable change, and to address the historic and contemporary effects of racism. Includes implementation guide and grants.
Committing to Equity and Inclusive Excellence: A Campus Guide for Self-Study and Planning
Designed to help campus leaders and practitioners focus on the success of students who come from groups who traditionally have been underserved in higher education.
UC Berkeley - Catalyst for Change Initiative
Shifting from "diversity crisis" to "diversity catalyst". Includes case study and data.
UCLA "Know" Clearinghouse
“Know” is UCLA's Equity, Diversity and Inclusion's clearinghouse for helpful facts and resources on various topics, including inclusion, bias and more.
Diversity and Inclusion in the College Classroom- Report from Tufts
This report features 20 articles from faculty teaching at institutions all over the US and Canada.

Training Resources

Diversity Toolkit: A Guide to Discussing Identity, Power and Privilege
Toolkit discussion activities on: Introduction-Identity, Systems of Power and Privilege, Gender and Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Class and Historical Disadvantage, Recap and Closing Activity.
Shapiro, I. Training for Racial Equity and Inclusion: A guide to selected programs (2002)
Compares programs based on underlying theories of change, training methods, service, and outcomes.
Also see pp. 113-114 "Questions Guiding the Selection of a Training Program"

Webinars

National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education (NADOHE)
Webinars on a variety of diversity topics.
See details for Evidence Based Strategies for Recruiting a Diverse Faculty"
W.K. Kellogg Foundation Training Resources
These guides and workshops can provide structure for dialogue on issues of race, activities focused on helping achieve racial equity and trainings designed to raise awareness and inspire action. Using the filters to view based on areas of focus, related issues and/or types.

Biases

UCSF: Bias Literature Reading LIst
UCSF Office of Diversity and Outreach has compiled a comprehensive list of recent and classic implicit bias literature.
Unconscious Bias Resources
UCSF Office of Diversity and Outreach Unconscious Bias Training site. Select menu options on left side of screen to access additional resources.
Bias-busting app from USC team excels at Facebook Global Hackathon
Known as Cue, the app uses virtual reality to eliminate gender bias in the workplace.
Project Implicit
Harvard University’s collaboration between researchers who are interested in implicit social cognition. The goal is to educate about hidden biases and to provide a “virtual laboratory” for collecting data.
UCLA "Know" - Implicit Bias
Videos, guides and reports on implicit bias.

Books, Journals, and Magazines

Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Higher Education by Shaun R. Harper; Ryan J. Davis; Sylvia Hurtado; Association for the Study of Higher Education Staff
Call Number: Please request this book via Interlibrary Loan
ISBN: 9780558848576
Publication Date: 2010-10-21
Fifty-Four readings in this 3rd edition collectively show how race has influenced and continues to affect all aspects of American higher education. This volume offers a comprehensive selection of seminal and contemporary publications that are situated across various postsecondary contexts. It is organized around six focal areas of study in the field of higher education: (1) History; (2) Students; (3) Faculty; (4) Curriculum, Teaching and Learning; (5) Organizations, Leadership and Governance; and (6) Policy, Finance and Economics. Also included is a seventh section devoted entirely to critical race perspectives on higher education.

INSIGHT Into Diversity
Articles on current trends and relevant news; interviews with innovators, thought leaders, and experts; explorations of best practices; and profiles of successful programs and initiatives.

Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
A quarterly publication of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education. Disseminates research findings, theory and promising practices which guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence. Access is through PsycINFO.

Faculty Recruitment & Retention

How to Plug the Leaky Bucket: Retention Strategies for Maintaining a Diverse Workforce
Strategies and techniques to retain a diverse workforce.
An institutional approach to recruiting and retaining a diverse faculty
On Campus with Women. 41.1 (Spring 2012), Association of American Colleges & Universities.
Diversity in Academe: Who Sets a College's Diversity Agenda?
Chronicle of Higher Education 2016 - Special Report. True diversity remains a struggle for many colleges. This special report looks at who actually sets a college’s diversity agenda, and what makes that agenda flourish or flop.
Introduction to Special Issue: Diverse Faculty in Higher Education
Multicultural Learning and Teaching, 2012, Vol.7(1)

Salary

Chronicle Data: Salaries
Search and explore faculty, staff, and adjunct salary data at thousands of colleges.
Gender, Race, and Ethnicity of College Administrators, Faculty, and Staff, Fall 2015
All U.S. institutions, 4-year, 2-year
Representation and Pay Gap for Racial and Ethnic Minorities in Selected College Executive Posts, 2016
Li, D., & Koedel, C. (2017). Representation and Salary Gaps by Race-Ethnicity and Gender at Selective Public Universities. Educational Researcher, 46(7), 343–354. https://doi.org/10.3102/0013189X17726535

Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U)

Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U)
1) Hover mouse over the red "Publications & Research" tab to open link options to various periodicals. 2) Click on the blue "Resource Hubs" tab located vertically along left side to open links to many other resources.
AAC&U Diversity, Equity, & Inclusive Excellence Resource Hub
Includes campus models, case studies, and tools and resources.
Bringing equity and quality learning together: Institutional priorities for tracking and advancing underserved students’ success. Key Findings from a Survey and In-Depth Interviews among Administrators at AAC&U Member Institutions

American College Personnel Association (ACPA)

Journals in the Field of Higher Education: A Racial Analysis Too often, scholarship regarding the concept of race in the United States is absent from top-tier journals across fields. Yet, at some institutions, faculty, including scholars who explore race, are required to publish in top-tier journals to secure tenure. This article highlights the extent to which journals—of all tiers—within the field of higher education publish articles explicitly highlighting race in the study.
Developmental Pathways to Trans Inclusion on College Campuses
Beyond Compliance: Addressing Sexual Violence in Higher Education
Beyond Coming Out: New Insights about GLBQ College Students of Color
Global Diversity & Inclusion Benchmarks
Strategic Imperative for Racial Justice and Decolonization

Association of American Universities (AAU)

AAAS/AAU Handbook on Law and Diversity
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Association of American Universities (AAU) collaborated on a handbook that outlines legally sustainable ways to expand diversity on college and university campuses, especially in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. April 28, 2010.

American Council on Education (ACE) / Higher Education Today

ACE Resources

Q&A: Race and Diversity: Student Demands and Presidential Imperatives (2016)
National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education President Benjamin D. Reese Jr. draws insights and early lessons from a season of campus activism and offers recommendations for institutions looking to maximize their ability to support their students.
Espinosa, LL. Turk, JM. & Taylor, M. (2017). Pulling Back the Curtain: Enrollment and Outcomes at Minority Serving Institutions
This report’s analysis, utilizes data from the National Student Clearinghouse to examine Minority Serving Institution's (MSI) student enrollment and outcomes, including completion rates for students who start higher education at an MSI.
more...less...
This report’s analysis, utilizes data from the National Student Clearinghouse to examine Minority Serving Institution's (MSI) student enrollment and outcomes, including completion rates for students who start higher education at an MSI.
ACE Diversity in Leadership - Featured Content

Higher Education Today resources. HET is a blog by the American Council on Education. Staffed by ACE’s Center for Policy Research & Strategy and Government Relations, and assess the critical challenges facing colleges and universities.

Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE)

Review of Higher Education
Keeps scholars, academic leaders, and public policymakers abreast of critical issues facing higher education today. Browse issues or search for diversity and inclusion for specific articles.
Higher Education Report
Links the best of higher education research and practice to inform decision making and policy.
Rethinking Cultural Competence in Higher Education: An Ecological Framework for Student Development
Racism and Racial Equity in Higher Education
Affirmative Action at a Crossroads: Fisher and Forward
Critical Race Theory in Higher Education: 20 Years of Theoretical and Research Innovations

Language Style Guides

The Diversity Style Guide
This media language guide includes terms and phrases related to race/ethnicity; religion; sexual orientation; gender identity; age and generation; drugs and alcohol; and physical, mental and cognitive disabilities.
Conscious Style Guide
Includes language guides for abilty+disability, age, appearance, empowerment, ethnicity, gender, health, and more.

Implementing D E & I across campus

Contains links to background resources for learning more about diversity, equity, and inclusion or obtaining a high level overview on best practices to implement diversity, equity, and inclusion across a university campus.