LibGuides: United States Congressional Resources: Home

Congressional Documents

The MacPhaidin library participates in the Federal Depository Library Program and in the past years received paper and microfiche copies of Congressional hearings, document from the Senate and the House of Representatives and other Congressional publications. With the advent of the Internet many of these documents are available in electronic format and are accessible online.

When the library first starting receiving documents from the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) in the early 1960's, all document were in paper format but as technology developed the FDLP began to offered publications in microfiche format and now online.

The library's collection of Congressional documents reflects these changes in technology and the MacPhaidin library no longer officially selects Congressional documents and relies on the GPO's FDsys database and Congress.gov from the Library of Congress to access to these materials.

This guide it a tool to assist you in locating these documents.

The librarians can assist you in locating Congressional publications that are available online in addition to older publications available in print or microform formats.

Congressional Directory - govinfo
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district. Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress. Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries
United States Government Manual via govinfo
The official handbook of the Federal Government. The United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. Begins with the 1935 edition.

Locate an Agency or Member of Congress

Congressional Directory
Call Number: Y 4.P 93/1: Government Documents
ISBN: 01609890
Publication Date: 1997-1998 -
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district. Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries
The United States Government Manual by Washington, D.C. : Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration
ISBN: 0092-1904
Publication Date: Annual
The library has this publication from 1954 until the present time. The most recent copy can be found at the Reference desk. Older copies have the Sudoc number GS 4.109:1954 until 1984 and AE 2.108/2:from 1985 unitl the present. Thses are located on the second floor. This link can be used to access the online version of this title.