LibGuides: HSC 218: Nutrition: Finding Articles

Use These Resources to Look for Articles Online

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database of medical journals. These articles are written by researchers for doctors and other medical professionals. They can be very challenging to read, yet are a wealth of information on all medical topics, including nutrition. For full text select free full text. Stonehill subscribes to no medical journals but can order items from interlibrary loan. PubMed collects journal articles from all over the world and in more than 50 languages.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a great database to start your research. it has both popular magazines and academic, peer-reviewed journals. It has many journals on nutrition and related disciplines. ASC had over 9000 full-text titles.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
This database has articles on nutrition and many other related health care issues.
Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo has psychology articles on the psychological aspects of food and eating, as well as a great deal of information on disordered eating.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is a massive collection of peer-reviewed articles in the sciences. It will have information on the biology of nutrition.

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that covers all subjects: science, the social sciences and humanities. You can search for scholarly literature, legal documents, books and reports. You can access Google Scholar directly or through the links located in LibGuides.

Many articles are in fulltext and available to anyone on the web, while others may be available through the library's databases. Google Scholar does link to versions of papers and articles that are on publishers's web sites that require a fee to view; in this instance, use the library's interlibrary loan service If a site is asking you to purchase the the article. Be aware that not all search results in Google Scholar will provide scholarly material.

Google Scholar will also provide a list of references under each citation. These citations can lead you to other resources on your research topic.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.

If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.

Finding Journal Articles When You Have A Citation

Search by journal title to access the catalog record. The record lists the database(s) and years the journal is available electronically as well information on print and microforms holdings.