Skip to main content

Chemistry: Start

This guide is designed to help you with your research relating to topics in Chemistry.

Librarians Can Help!

Librarians are here to support you through this sudden change to online learning.  Check out the Library Resources and Support course in eLearn, or contact us by:

 

Text: 508.709.0223

Email: librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu

Tel: 508.565.1313

Make a Virtual Appointment

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement (CWAA) will provide online tutoring through Spring 2020. All tutoring appointments & group subject labs will continue via eLearn. Please login to TutorTrac with your myhill username and password for more information, to view the schedule, and book appointments. For any questions, please chat with us on our website https://www.stonehill.edu/offices-and-services/cwaa/ or contact us via email cwaa-services@stonehill.edu.

 

Phone numbers and email addresses for the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement are:

Devon Sprague, Director
508-565-1751

CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu

Alicia Brienza, Assistant Director
508-565-1570
CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu

Leona O'Neil, Administrative Assistant
508-565-1572
CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu


 

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for chemistry. You can use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library. Chemistry reference materials can be found in the QD section of the collection. Ask a Reference librarian for help, if needed.

Books and Videos- This page will give you access to HillSearch, the MacPhaidin Library Catalog, and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch will list all books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, government documents and Databases held in our library. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from interlibrary loan.

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for chemistry topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)

Internet Resources - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to chemistry.

Streaming Media - Use HillSearch to locate a online video that can be watched anywhere, anytime. These videos can be embedded into your class presentation.

Citing Your Resources- Your professors will likely specify which citation style he or she would like you to use. This page will provide you access to a number of the most frequently-used citation styles. This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

Contact Us

In accordance with best practices to help stop the spread of COVID-19, the library is closed until it is safe to reopen.

While there is no physical access to the library, librarians continue to work full-time, remotely.

  Phone, chat, and email are monitored:
 

  • Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
    ‚Äč

Students who wish to meet virtually with a reference librarian can make an appointment using LibCal. Librarians offer convenient meeting times and will be using ZOOM for the virtual meeting. If you do not see a convenient time in the LibCal schedule, please email a librarian directly to schedule an appointment.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Contact Me

Heather Perry's picture
Heather Perry
Contact:
Library 110
508-565-1538
libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility