Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: Home

this guide is to designed to help you with research for your English classes.

Librarians Can Help!

Librarians are here to support you in this complex new learning environment.  Check out the Library Resources and Support course in eLearn, or contact us by:

 

Text: 508.709.0223

Email: librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu

Tel: 508.565.1313

Make a Virtual Appointment

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement (CWAA) will provide online tutoring through Spring 2020. All tutoring appointments & group subject labs will continue via eLearn. Please login to TutorTrac with your myhill username and password for more information, to view the schedule, and book appointments. For any questions, please chat with us on our website https://www.stonehill.edu/offices-and-services/cwaa/ or contact us via email cwaa-services@stonehill.edu.

 

Phone numbers and email addresses for the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement are:

Devon Sprague, Director
508-565-1751

CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu

Alicia Brienza, Assistant Director
508-565-1570
CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu

Leona O'Neil, Administrative Assistant
508-565-1572
CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu


 

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for literature. You can use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library. Literature reference materials can be found in the PN - PS sections of the collection. Ask a Reference librarian for help, if needed.

Finding Books and Videos - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch,the MacPhaidin Library Catalog and the WorldCat Catalog. HillSearch will list all books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, government documents and Databases held in our library. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from interlibrary loan.

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for literature topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)

Internet Resources - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to literature. Here you will find information about literary prizes, free sources of full-text sources, and links to digitized reference works.

Streaming Media - Use HillSearch to locate a online video that can be watched anywhere, anytime. These videos can be embedded into your class presentation.

Finding Primary Sources -  This tab provides you access to an annotated list of the library's subscription primary source databases. Additionally, you'll find a link to the librarian's collection of digitized primary source collections.

Citing Your Research -  This page will provide you access information about and examples of the MLA citation style.

Contact Us

In order to comply with state COVID-19 safety regulations, building occupancy will be reduced this fall. Call The Desk at 508-565-1313 to find out whether the building is at capacity. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.

Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Your Librarian

Trish McPherson's picture
Trish McPherson
Contact:
Library Room 109-B
508-565-1844
libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility