Off-Campus Access
Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.
If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.
Tutoring Services
For any questions, please visit our website or contact us via email Tutoring-services@stonehill.edu.
Shannon Balliro, Ed. D., Director of Advising and Academic Success
508-565-1306
sballiro@stonehill.edu
Leona O'Neil, Assistant Director of Tutoring Services
508-565-1572
loneil@stonehill.edu
What's Here
Welcome
This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for environmental science. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about how you can contact the librarians and when. Use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:
Finding Articles- When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for environmental studies. These databases will provide you with access to articles and reviews appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)
Finding Books and Videos - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch and WorldCat catalog. Hillsearch will list all books, periodicals, and audio-visual materials. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. It can be used to order items from interlibrary loan. In addition HillSearch will give you direct access WorldCat when searching using the article tab.
Web Sources - This page provides links to websites that have content relevant to the subject matter of the class. This page also includes information about how to evaluate web content for accuracy, authority, and credibility.
Executive Summaries - Consult this tab for information about how to write an executive summary in environmental science.
CSE Citation - This tab defaults to our library guide on citing in CSE. Here, you will find sample citations, instructional videos, and online CSE resources.
Video Tutorials - This tab contains brief instructional videos about how to conduct searches in the databases ScienceDirect and Academic Search Complete.
Call The Desk at 508.565.1313
