Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLP 301 - Phonetics: Home

R. Goldberg

Contact Us

In order to comply with state COVID-19 safety regulations, building occupancy will be reduced this fall. Call The Desk at 508-565-1313 to find out whether the building is at capacity. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.

Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.

If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used in the study of phonetics. You can use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Finding Books and Videos  - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch (the MacPhaidin Library Catalog) and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch will list all books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, government documents and Databases held in our library. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from interlibrary loan.

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for topics in phonetics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar.

Internet Sources - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to the study of phonetics.  Information about how to evaluate websites for credibility is also included.

Streaming Media - Use HillSearch to locate an online video that can be watched anywhere, anytime. These videos can be embedded into your class presentation.

APA 7th Style Citation Guide - Professor Goldberg has requested that you use APA citations in your paper. This page will direct you to a guide that provides you with instructions and examples of how to cite sources using APA style.

Your Assignment

Journal Article and Class Presentation:  

Students are required to research an article about a study related to phonetics. They will write a 2-4 page paper, summarizing the study’s purpose (hypothesis), subjects, design & methodology, results and conclusion.  They will analyze and critique the study and discuss its scientific and/or clinical relevance. Students will give a 5-10 minute power point presentation in class via Zoom.  Papers must be written using APA style (www.APAstyle.com) and will be graded according to a rubric that will be available on e-Learn. Students have discretion regarding the structure of their presentation.  Papers will be submitted (uploaded via eLearn) by 10:00 AM on the due date. This assignment is worth a total of 25% of the course grade; (paper, 60% and presentation 40%). 

Reference and Access Services Assistant

Lindsay Boezi's picture
Lindsay Boezi
Contact:
508-565-1567

Borrow Items from Interlibrary Loan 2020

If Stonehill does not own the book, or article you need, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan Department.

Problems? Questions? Contact THE DESK at 508-565-1313.

I

 

 

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility