Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANT 233 - Language and Culture: Home

Contact Us - Spring 2022

For up-to-date information on COVID-19 and safety protocols, please visit the campus Health and Safety FAQ page.

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Trish McPherson
she/her/hers
Contact:
Library Room 109-B
508-565-1844

How to Navigate This Guide

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to resources for this course. The home page provides you with information how you can contact the librarians or make an appointment for research assistance You'll also find information on how to reach the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement (CWAA) for subject tutoring and writing support

Additionally, the tabs at the top of the page will allow you to navigate to pages where you'll find the following types of resources.

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebook. This page lists several subject-specific reference works that might be helpful for this class.  The reference section is located on the library's first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library but can be scanned or copied.

Books and Videos - This page will give you access to our library catalog, HillSearch Use HillSearch to locate books, eBooks, government documents, streaming media selections and more. This page also provides you a link to WorldCat. The WorldCat database contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. Use it in conjunction with our Interlibrary Loan service to request items not available in the MacPhaidin library.

Databases (Use to Find Scholarly Journal Articles) - This page will explain how to locate articles in the library in addition to an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for Anthropology. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. We have also included video tutorials for several databases here.

Useful Websites - This page provides links to international organizations and non-profit agencies that monitor the state of linguistic diversity around the world.

Streaming Media - Use HillSearch to locate an online video that can be watched anywhere, anytime. These videos can be embedded into your class presentation or used as sources. For this course, you might find films offered through Films on Demand to be particularly helpful 
That and are other streaming media databases are listed on this page. 

Citing Your Research - This page will provide you information on the Chicago Manual of Style citation style.

Please take a moment to complete the brief questionnaire located on the left side of this page. Your responses will help us improve this guide.

 

CWAA - Tutoring

For any questions, please visit The CWAA  website  or contact  them at cwaa-services@stonehill.edu.

  • Tutoring is located in Library 314
  • All subjects are available in-person or online. 
  • Stop by or book an appointment in advance on TutorTrac
libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility