Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Atlases & Maps
Atlases and maps are used to locate places and can also provide the history and significance of a site.
Bible dictionaries provide definitions and explanations to significant terms and subjects in the Holy Scriptures.
Commentaries are essays to assist in the understanding of passages in sacred books, texts, etc.
A concordance is an index to a book. It is arranged in alphabetical order and shows the location of each word in the book. Each concordance corresponds with a version of the Bible.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - General Study of Religion
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Call Number: BL31 .E46 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Among Library Journal's picks of the most important reference works of the millennium--with the "Encyclopedia Judaica and the "New Catholic Encyclopedia--Mircea Eliade's "Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries--many heavily updated--as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - Catholicism
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-16
The Catholic Bible Concordance by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy by
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
Catechism of the Catholic Church by
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Hindu
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Islam
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Judaism
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Buddhism