LibGuides: Philosophy: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library.

Google Books

Google Books can be used to search the full text of books from title to index. You can search for certain phases in a book, search the index and get a preview of the book's content. If you find a relevant book you can download a complete book if it is in the public domain. You can purchase books to be loaded on to an iPhone, iPad, or other device. You can also request books that are relevant to your research by using the library's interlibrary loan system, Illiad.

Full View: You can access the complete work if it is out of copyright or if the author or publisher has allowed the book to be available in a fully viewable format. You can view any page and if the book is in the public domain you can download, save or print a PDF version. You can search the content of the book.

Limited Preview: A limited number of pages from the book will be available for viewing and content searching is allowed.

Snippet View: Just a few sentences to display your search term in context of the book. Publishing information is available at this level.

No Preview Available: Just the basic bibliographic information about the book will be displayed.

Reference Sources

An excellent place to begin your research is in the Reference Department on the first floor of MacPháidín. This is where you will find both general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. These resources are a good place to get background material on your topic. Remember that Reference materials need to be available to everyone; therefore, they do not circulate outside of the library. If you are studying remotely and would like access to a reference work entry, please contact me.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: REF B41 .C35 1999
ISBN: 1107015057
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Key features of this third edition include: * 500 new entries covering Eastern as well as Western philosophy, and covering individual countries such as China, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain * Increased coverage of such growing fields as ethics and philosophy of mind * More than 100 new intellectual portraits of leading contemporary thinkers * Wider coverage of Continental philosophy * Dozens of new technical concepts in cognitive science and other areas * Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding * Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion by Shambhala Publications Staff
ISBN: 0877739803
Publication Date: 1994-05-10
With more than four thousand entries and over one hundred illustrations, this encyclopedia offers a complete survey of the four major religious traditions of Asia. It is designed not only for students and scholars but also to help general readers find their way through the thicket of unfamiliar words and concepts that are often encountered today in various fields such as the health professions, psychotherapy, the sciences, and the media. Among the subjects covered are: nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Important terms such as chakra, karma, koan, nirvana, tantra, Tao, and yin-yang nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; The lives and teachings of mystics, philosophers, and masters of meditation nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Basic texts and scriptures nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Sects and schools of thought nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Mythological figures and events In addition, pronunciation tables, a comprehensive bibliography, and a Ch'an/Zen Lineage Chart are provided.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
ISBN: 0028661370
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
The field of environmental ethics is a new but now well-established sub-discipline of philosophy. Emerging in the mid-1970s, the field coalesced with the inaugural volume of the journal Environmental Ethics in 1979 and developed rapidly. By the turn of the century, most colleges and universities offered courses, if not major programs of study, in this important discipline. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy addresses the needs of upper high school students, undergraduate researchers, teachers and professors, as well as general readers by examining the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Donald M. Borchert
Call Number: REF B51 .E53 2006
ISBN: 9780028657806
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Since 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Oxford companion to philosophy (eBook) by Ted Honderich
Call Number: http://encore.stonehill.edu/iii/encore/record/C__Rb2019891
Publication Date: 1995
Oxford University Press presents a major new edition of the definitive philosophical reference work for readers at all levels. For ten years the original volume has served as a stimulating introduction for general readers and as an indispensable guide for students; its breadth and depth of coverage have ensured that it is also read with pleasure and interest by those working at a higher level in philosophy and related disciplines. A distinguished internationalassembly of 249 philosophers contributed almost 2,000 entries, and many of these have now been considerably revised and updated; to these are added over 300 brand-new pieces on a fascinating range of current topics. This new edition offers enlightening and enjoyable discussions of all aspects ofphilosophy, and of the lives and work of the great philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor); Luciano Floridi (Editor)
Call Number: REF B41 .R68 1998
ISBN: 0415169178
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.