LibGuides: MKT 210 Marketing Principles: Corporate Information

Corporate Information

Company Reports and Profiles

AnnualReports.com
This free service allows users to search for NYSE and NASDAQ listed companies' annual reports. The reports are in PDF and html.

Annual Reports Annual Reports are probably the best single source of information on public companies.

CAUTION: Keep in mind that annual reports are written by the companies themselves and used as a public relations tool. Although there are guidelines, companies do have a fair amount of freedom in preparing the reports. The amount of information included will vary greatly from company to company, and you often have to read between the lines or consult other resources to obtain a truly accurate view of a company.

Bloomberg Professional Service (Available via dedicated terminals in the Meehan building only)

The Bloomberg Professional service is the world's leading interactive financial information network, seamlessly integrating the very best in real-time data, news and analytics. Within the business community and especially in the fields of finance, economics, banking and investment management, the use of information from Bloomberg has become an integral part of research and management. Access is via dedicated terminals in the Meehan building only. For more information see the Bloomberg Guide.

Business Collection - Gale This link opens in a new window
Formerly called General BusinessFile. Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Sources include business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Company Web Site
Try the company’s own web site for their annual report.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Corporate Addresses and Basic Operating Information

D & B business rankings by Dun & Bradstreet
Call Number: REF HG4057 .A237
Publication Date: 2014
Public and private companies are ranked by sales volume and employee size within industry category and state.

The Fortune 500
An annual special issue of Fortune Magazine appearing in the April or May issues. The "International 500" issue comes out in August. (periodicals shelves

Hoover's handbook of American business by Hoover's
Call Number: REF HG4057 .A28617 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Brief profiles of more than 500 organizations. Includes history and summary financial data
Hoover's Handbook of World Business
Call Number: REF HG4009 .H66
Publication Date: 2014
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
Call Number: REF HG4009 .H64 2014
Publication Date: 2014
International directory of company histories by Thomas Derdak
Call Number: REF HD2721 .I63 v.
Publication Date: 1988 -
Information on the historical development of over 2,500 of the world's largest and most influential companies.

ThomasNet
ThomasNet.com is the most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more. Access over 650,000 industrial companies indexed by 67,000 product and service categories. It includes links to supplier’s web sites.