Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives & Special Collections: Special Collections

What are "Special Collections"?

Special Collections are  comprised of assets distinct from the the College Archives collection and Historical Collections. Consisting primarily of bound volumes, each special collection contains valuable research materials relating to the College's history and mission as a Catholic institution of higher education. These collections relate to a variety of academic disciplines, addressing such topics as politics, philosophy, literature, history, international policy, and religion. The Special Collections consist of:

Catholic Collection
Books related to Church teachings and history, such as historic bibles and related publications.

Irish Collection
Includes the Irish Government Documents collection, as well as literary and historical rare book publications.

Edwin Honig Collection
Books from the library of Edwin Honig, a poet, translator and former professor at Brown University.

Michael Novak Collection
Books from the library of Michael Novak, a prominent American Catholic Philosopher whose papers are held in the College Archives and Historical Collection.

Rare Books Collection
Additional rare book material received by donation and relating to the teaching and research mission of the College.

Requesting Access to Special Collections

Book materials that form part of our Special Collections holdings are available for use in the College Archives. When searching in HillSearch, Special Collections materials will have the status "LIBRARY USE ONLY":

To request access to a Special Collections item, please complete our Special Collections Access Request FormNOTE: 48 business hours' notice is required for access to all Special Collections Items.

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility