Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Italian-English Dictionary Barron's is now taking a comprehensive approach to foreign-language reference volumes. This definitive Italian-English dictionary features 100, 000 entries with translations, and makes an ideal reference book for schools, libraries, businesses, and the home bookshelf. Yet its manageable size and reasonable price also makes it a practical learning tool for students taking an Italian language course. It features: Two full-length sections: English to Italian and Italian to English American-style English translations of all Italian entries Headwords printed in a second color for easy reference with translations, parts of speech, and pronunciation guide printed in black Exemplary phrases using headwords in standard contexts Separate bilingual lists for numerals, phonetics symbols, abbreviations, and geographical names This all-inclusive dictionary also features full-color atlas-style maps of Italy and adjoining regions, a concise grammar guide, a regular verb conjugation list, and many more language learning aids. Here is a complete and up-to-date bilingual dictionary for libraries, schools, and the home. It can also serve as a helpful take-along book for international travelers. FREE eBOOK VERSION available with purchase! A key feature that sets Barron's Italian-English Dictionary apart from the competition is the FREE downloadable electronic version of the print dictionary. Users will find a PIN number in the back of each book that instructs them on how to download a copy onto their PDA, smartphone, and/or PC. Here's a great feature for students and travelers constantly on the go.
Call Number: REF PC1640 .I75 2007
Webster's New World Italian Dictionary Compiled in collaboration with a team of expert linguists, the Webster's New World concise bilingual dictionaries are the perfect choice for beginning students and advanced speakers as well. Comprehensive and authoritative, yet clear and concise, the dictionaries offer a full array of features, as well as wide-ranging coverage of current expressions. Long-standing favorites in hardcover, the dictionaries will continue to be standard references for years to come -- especially now that they are available in unabridged paperback editions. More than 100,000 words, giving wide-ranging coverage of current terms and expressions Detailed definitions so the user can understand and translate idiomatically Extensive examples of usage, showing how translations of words can vary according to context Verb tables, including irregular verbs Cross-references from every verb to the appropriate verb table
Call Number: REF PC1640 .L58 1992
Historical Dictionary of Modern Italy Over 350 dictionary-style entries illustrate the rich complexity of Italy's evolution, especially in the twentieth century. Special attention is paid to the political figures, intellectual movements, and formative events.
Call Number: REF DG555 .G53 1999
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture This rigorously compiled A-Z volume offers rich, readable coverage of the diverse forms of post-1945 Italian culture. With over 900 entries by international contributors, this volume is genuinely interdisciplinary in character, treating traditional political, economic, and legal concerns, with a particular emphasis on neglected areas of popular culture. Entries range from short definitions, histories or biographies to longer overviews covering themes, movements, institutions and personalities, from advertising to fascism, and Pirelli to Zeffirelli. The Encyclopedia aims to inform and inspire both teachers and students in the following fields: *Italian language and literature *Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences *European Studies *Media and Cultural Studies *Business and Management *Art and Design It is extensively cross-referenced, has a thematic contents list and suggestions for further reading.
Publication Date: REF DG450 .E53 2000
A Concise Encyclopedia of the Italian Renaissance
Call Number: REF DG445 .C66