Support at Stonehill
Intercultural Affairs 508-565-1409 Duffy 149
Mission Office 508-565-1487 Duffy 124
Wellness 508-565-1544 Roche 115
Student Affairs 508-565-1363 Duffy 146
Counseling Center 508-565-1331 Chapel of Mary 109
LGBTQ Internet Resources
-
The AdvocateThe Advocate is a well-known source for LGBTQ news. Published in Los Angeles CA.
-
Washington BladeAmerican Gay news source. Published in Washington, D.C.
-
GLBTQ Encyclopeida (Archived)The world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer culture. This
-
GLSEN: Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education NetworkThis organization provides resources for GLBTQ young adults and promotes alliances between gays and non-gays. One feature of this site that should be noted is the Research section, which contains useful statistics and facts. The organization also offers a newsletter, a blog, and a Tools & Tips section for offering additional resources to help students deal with the everyday life issues of being a GLBTQ young adult.
Finding LGBTQ literature
Every library has a limited amount of resources to spend purchasing books. If you are looking for additional LGBTQ titles, a good place to start is the list of classics from the Publishing Triangle .
A list of major awards given for gay and lesbian literature, are included in the Lambda Literary Awards and the American Library Association's (ALA) Stonewall Book Awards. You shouldn't neglect the regular book review channels such as the New York Times and the New Yorker. Both of these publications can be accessed by using the library's resources listed below.
-
New York Times 1985 - Current This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of The New York Times (from 1985 to one day before the current date).
-
New YorkerThis is a direct link to the New Yorker available through the database Academic Search Complete.
-
Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PN56.H57 G365 2002ISBN: 9780415929264Publication Date: 2002The revised edition of The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage is a reader's companion to this impressive body of work. It provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian authors in world literature; and briefer treatments of other topics and figures important in appreciating the rich and varied gay and lesbian literary traditions.
Other Internet resources for LGBTQ titles:
Over the Rainbow Books a list produced by the American Library Association that exhibit commendable literary quality and significant authentic lgbtq content and are recommended for adults over age 18.
Rainbow Book List list is produced by the American Library Association every year and lists fiction and nonfiction titles aimed at a young adult audience that deal with GLBTQ themes. On the website you can find lists of the current and previous selections. Links to additional booklists and organizations can also be found on the site.
ForeWord Reviews lists great books and independent voices providing book reviews from independent publishers.
Browse the Shelves in MacPhaidin Library.
The library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to organize books in the stacks by subject. This means that it is easy to browse the stacks once you know the subject heading and call number associated with your topic.
In MacPhaidin Library, call numbers A-HF are located on the 2nd floor & HG-Z are located on the 3rd floor. All Leisure Reading books are on the 1st floor opposite Ace's Cafe.
| Browse the shelves by Subject Area | Call Number |
| Sexual life | HQ12-HQ449 |
| Sexual behavior and attitudes. Sexuality | HQ19-30.7 |
| Bisexuality | HQ74-74.2 |
| Homosexuality. Lesbianism | HQ75-76.8 |
| Transvestism | HQ77-77.2 |
| Transexualism | HQ77.7-77.95 |
MacPhaidin Library Reference Books Specific to LGBTQ
-
Encyclopedia of homosexuality byCall Number: REF HQ76.25 .E53ISBN: 0824065441Publication Date: 1990Coverage includes historical, medical, psychological, sociological, and transcultural and transgeographical information in biographical, topical, and thematic entries.
-
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
by
Call Number: Reference Collection HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004ISBN: 9780684312613Publication Date: 2003This three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index. -
Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PN56.H57 G365 2002ISBN: 9780415929264Publication Date: 2002The revised edition of The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage is a reader's companion to this impressive body of work. It provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian authors in world literature; and briefer treatments of other topics and figures important in appreciating the rich and varied gay and lesbian literary traditions.
