Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts by
Call Number: LB 1576 .H234 2003
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
The Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts, Second Edition--co-sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English--offers a comprehensive overview of research in the field. This thoroughly updated second edition reflects developments in educational research and new information within the areas of language learning and instruction since the publication of the first edition in 1991. It assesses the significance of research, evaluates new developments, and examines current conflicts, controversies, and issues, while linking the work in one area to related work in others. Coverage includes the theoretical bases for English language arts teaching; different methodological perspectives; the early years of language acquisition; the multiple aspects of the language arts; teaching specific aspects of the English language arts curriculum; oral and written discourse; computer applications to language learning; and current approaches to studying the many ways and contexts in which people learn language. This Handbook is an essential resource for all professional educators, particularly curriculum designers at all school levels, researchers, policy planners, and practicing teachers of the English language arts.
Getting Started with English Language Learners by
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
"It's been six months, and I STILL can't get my English language learners to participate in class!" "How can I help my newcomers feel more comfortable around other students?" "Am I doing enough to help my English language learners succeed?" Have you had these thoughts? Take heart, you are not alone. As schools and districts swell with growing numbers of English language learners, and as administrators and teachers wrestle with federal guidelines for educating these students, many educators are faced with these same challenges and much more. To meet these challenges, it is imperative for educators to learn about and use the theories and teaching strategies that will help English language learners succeed in the classroom. In Getting Started with English Language Learners: How Educators Can Meet the Challenge, Judie Haynes provides a practical resource to help educators who are new to the field of English as a Second Language understand the needs of English language learners. From learning how students acquire a second language to differentiating instruction to exploring practical strategies for teaching newcomers, this book will help educators learn how to create effective learning environments for English language learners. Real-life scenarios from actual classrooms are presented throughout the book. The book also includes a brief overview of different types of ESL programs used in the United States and a helpful glossary of common ESL terminology. New teachers, veteran educators working with English language learners for the first time, and administrators can all use this book to increase their knowledge, improve their practice, and, most importantly, effectively educate and inspire English language learners.
Meeting the Needs of Second Language Learners by
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
An overview of the challenges of educating second language learners and a guide to a variety of strategies for effectively meeting their unique educational needs.
Teaching English As a Second Language by
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
This guide examines the concepts that most often confound ESL students, whose confusion can generally be reduced to one very basic question: Why does English work that way? Focusing on the grammar of conversational speech, the book goes beyond simple description of the parts of speech, tenses and modes, and other topics of instruction to consider the cultural differences in language use (for native speakers of Japanese, for instance, the painting may be on the wall--but the wall is also on the painting) and even the neuroscience of our speech patterns. With 36 illustrations, an annotated bibliography and list of online resources, a glossary, and end-of-chapter exercises, this book equips instructors and advanced students to explain everyday language choices that stymie non-native speakers. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
50 Strategies for Teaching the English Language by
Call Number: PE1128.A2 H467 2000
Publication Date: 1999-10-04
Focusing on K-12 English language learners, Herrell (reading/language arts, California State U., Fresno) describes the theoretical basis, implementation, and application of strategies that have been tested in multilingual classrooms and found to support student learning. The 23 strategies covered in
English Learners by
Call Number: PE1128.A2 E544 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
A resource for meeting the needs of the burgeoning English language learner (ELL) population. It examines three important ELL issues: English reading instruction in an immersion setting; English language development; and cultural issues pertaining to ELLs in and out of the classroom.
The New Inclusion by
Call Number: LB1027.4 .P47 2014
Publication Date: 2013-11-22
How can today's educators rise to the challenges of teaching in the inclusive classroom, while at the same time making teaching more rewarding and beneficial for all students? In her new book, acclaimed international educational consultant Kathy Perez provides powerful instructional strategies, not only for students with special needs, but also for their general education peers. Her New Inclusion encompasses a broader understanding of the inclusive classroom, embracing all the different needs that teachers face, from special education, to ELL, to a wide spectrum of student ability and readiness. This innovative resource combines the latest research in brain-based teaching and student engagement with useful interventions and differentiated strategies. Designed to be of practical and immediate use, all chapters include a focus on the needs of less-able readers. In addition, information for implementation and adaptation is provided to accommodate various grade levels. The text includes classroom vignettes, ties to the Common Core, illustrations, diagrams, highlight boxes, and many more user-friendly features.
Breaking Through by
Call Number: LC3731 .B657 2012
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Utilizing new research and field studies, this book provides a whole-school approach to helping English learners achieve academically while they learn English. Discover why ELs learn better when language, literacy, and subject matter are integrated, and learn how to prepare all teachers in a school to meet the needs of this growing student population.