Data and Statistical Sources: Earth Science

Data on the time, location, depth, and magnitude of earthquakes around the world. 1900-present.

For patrons seeking data on a wide range of environmental topics for a specific geographic area or type of facility.

Data on topics such as hazardous waste, air and water quality, and the release of toxic chemicals into the environment. Searchable by topic.

Data on the amounts of various chemical found in the soil, in rocks, in water, and in stream sediments for tens of thousands of locations in the U.S.

NASA's EarthData disseminates a wide range of data, organized under broad categories: atmosphere, solar radiance, cryosphere, human dimensions, land, and ocean.

Data on land cover (the type of vegetation or manmade structures on a piece of land), areas where various types of animals live, protected land areas, and some aquatic habitats (lakes and river basins).

Disseminates data about several aspects of Earth science: earthquakes, landslides, volcanoes, wildfires, and more.

Data on volcanic activity from the five volcano observatories in the U.S. (Alaska, California, the Cascades, Hawaii, and Yellowstone).

Provides data on the locations of fires, density of vegetation, and land cover, worldwide. 1995-present.

Environmental issues in the countries of Europe. Includes data about land cover, species distributions, habitats and protected areas, air quality and pollution, and water.

Data sets related to soil types and soil degradation.

Compare the air quality of different counties or states, or at different times of the year, in up to 10 counties.

Air quality data collected at outdoor monitors across the U.S. The multi-year tile plot shows long-term changes in air quality

Use EPA's Enforcement and Compliance History Online website to search for facilities in your community to assess their compliance with environmental regulations. You can use ECHO to search for facilities, investigate pollution sources, search for EPA enforcement cases, examine and create enforcement-related maps, or analyze trends in compliance & enforcement data.

FLIGHT provides information about greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from large facilities in the U.S. Browse information about the metric tons of carbon dioxide, methane, nitrous oxide, and various fluorinated gases released by thousands of individual plants or facilities that are major emitters of these gases.

Comprehensive data on the emission of air pollutants in the U.S. published every 3 years.

The primary source for data on climate and weather in the U.S. Approximately 300 climate-related and weather-related datasets. Use the map applications to visualize data by location.

Provides access to dozens of data sets related to carbon dioxide and climate change.

Provides estimates of the emissions of several different types of harmful gases. Data is available by country or economic sector. Oldest estimates date back to 1890.

The KNMI Climate Explorer is a web application to analyze climate data statistically. It contains more than 10 TB of climate data and dozens of analysis tools.

Learn about the quality of surface waters at the community, state, and national level. Browse data on safe/unsafe swimming areas, drinking water suppliers, aquatic life, etc.

Hydrological data from the USGS. Data collected from approx. 1.9 million water sites in the U.S. and its territories. Raw data is available from 2007-present. Daily, monthly, or annual summaries available for older time periods.

The Water Quality Portal (WQP) is the premiere source of discrete water-quality data in the United States and beyond. This cooperative service integrates publicly available water-quality data from the United States Geological Survey (USGS), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and over 400 state, federal, tribal, and local agencies. Searchable at the county level.

Information about water resources and irrigation by country since 1960. Searchable by country, time period, and and many water and irrigation variables.

Investigate the following criteria by location: drinking water, sanitation and hygiene, water quality and wastewater, water availability and use, water-related ecosystems, and more.

Provides water-related information for fresh and marine waters. Select the type of water, and navigate to the Data Tools section.