LibGuides: Data and Statistical Sources: U.S. Government Statistics

Alternative Sources for Government Data

Alternative Sources for Government Data
Federal data availability has recently changed significantly, impacting researchers and the public. This guide from NYU Law provides some alternative resources for finding this data.
Archive of data.gov - Harvard Law School
The Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab Team released their archive of data.gov on Source Cooperative. The 16TB collection includes over 311,000 datasets harvested during 2024 and 2025, a complete archive of federal public datasets linked by data.gov. It will be updated daily as new datasets are added to data.gov.

This is the first release in their new data vault project to preserve and authenticate vital public datasets for academic research, policymaking, and public use.

U.S. Government Agencies

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes statistics about the courts, crime, corrections, the federal justice system, forensic sciences, law enforcement, recidivism and crime victims.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics include: employment training, labor-management relations, occupational safety and health, pension and welfare benefits, productivity and technology, veterans' employment, women in the workforce.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Includes: automobile safety, aviation safety and standards, boating, hazardous materials transportation, highway safety, mass transit, railroad safety, shipbuilding, vehicle accidents and crashworthiness.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Historical budget and economic data which includes: Data on revenues, outlays, and the deficit or surplus from 1962 thru the present; analysis of the president's budget; distribution of household income and federal taxes; and spending on transportation and infrastructure.
Department of Agriculture
Searchable by state; Provides statistics about: animal and plant health; consumer affairs; family nutrition; food safety and inspection; human nutrition; and veterinary medicine.
Department of Commerce
"The Commerce Department collects, stores, and analyzes a wealth of information, including data on the Nation’s economy, population, and environment. "
Department of Defense
Open data sets pertaining to the U.S. Military
Department of Education
Searchable listing of publicly available education statistics, including adult education, civil rights, libraries, etc.
Department of State
Statistics include: passports issued, visas, parental-child abductions, intercountry adoptions, U.S. citizen deaths overseas.
Department of the Interior
Includes statistics about geology, wildlife, archaeology, natural resources, and water.
Department of the Treasury
Statistics include: coin and metal production, currency production, savings bonds.
Energy Information Administration
State-by-state data on coal, natural gas, renewable energy, fossil fuels, nuclear energy, and electricity.
HealthData.gov
Managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Datasets include: substance abuse; disease; smoking; aging; disabilities
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Datasets
"HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original datasets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population."
No FEAR Act Data
Data on violations of anti-discrimination and whistleblower protection laws.

more... less...

The quarterly report contains the number of complaints filed; the number of persons filing those complaints; the number of persons filing multiple complaints; the bases and issues alleged in the complaints; the average length of time in takes an agency to complete certain stages of the complaint process; the number of final agency actions in which discrimination is found, broken down by issue, basis, and whether a hearing was held; the number of pending complaints that were filed in previous fiscal years, including the number of persons who filed those complaints; and, the number of complaints in which an investigation was not completed in a timely manner.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Provided by the department of Homeland Security.