HCA 105 Foundations of Healthcare: Web Sites

Centers for Disease Control

Public current information about clinical research studies developed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health

The agency that administers Medicare and the federal part of Medicaid and is part of the Department of Health and Human Services

Access point to many disability related organizations

The FDA site contains a great deal of useful data including drug labeling information, new drug approvals, and the online version of the Orange Book which lists therapeutic equivalents (generic drugs than can replace a brand-name drug)

a continuously updated source of COVID-19 data and expert guidance.

This consumer-friendly clearinghouse for health information comes from the National Library of Medicine. Here, you'll find information on specific diseases, conditions and prescription drugs.

Cancer.gov is the central website for the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the U.S. government’s principal agency for cancer research.

The Internet Drug Index

WebMD contains all kinds of healthcare information, including symptom diagnosis, how-to information about healthcare, and articles.

Provides information on Public Health topics, including policy statements on a range of issues

The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults. (from website)

Kaiser is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.

An independent coalition of key stakeholder groups (providers, payers and patients) in Massachusetts healthcare to help provider organizations, health plans and policy makers improve the quality of patient care experiences throughout the state

NIH is the primary agency of the United States government responsible for biomedical and health-related research.

Access online forms; get information on retirement, SSI, Medicare, disability and survivor benefits. Also had information for people who do business with Social Security.

The Department of Health and Human Services is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans. It is comprised of the Office of the Secretary and 11 operating divisions. The agencies perform a wide variety of tasks and services, including research, public health, food and drug safety, grants and other funding, health insurance, and many others.

A specialized agency of the United Nations the WHO provides overviews and analysis of world nations focusing on health and health care issues including statistics relating to all countries.

This resource from the Department of Heath and Human Services explains the impact of the Affordable Care Act on young adult and those with pre-existing medical conditions. It also explains the Act's preventitive health mandates and prohibition on lifetime caps on insurance benefits.

This fact sheet, published in 2022, reviews the first 12 years of the Affordable Care Act in relation to the health of women and families, the health of older adults and people witth disabilities, changes in insurance coverage and protections, mental health and substance abuse support, and the health of LGBTQ and communities of color.

This resource provides summaries of key components of the ACA legislation.

This article provides an overview of the 2010 ACA legislation and details changes that have been made in the 12 years since, including those pertaining to fees assessed those without insurance, the shortening of the enrollment period, and the ability of companies to apply for an exemption that will allow them not to offer or pay for coverage for contraceptives due to a religious or moral objection.

Provides the following information about Massachusetts physicians: education, training, medical specialties, professional demographics, professional or community awards received, research or publications, malpractice claims paid in the past ten years, hospital discipline in the past ten years, criminal convictions in the past ten years and disciplinary actions of the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine in the past ten years.

Medicare's Physician Compare search engine allows users to access information about Medicare-enrolled Physicians and Healthcare Professionals.

Find a doctor near you by specialty, conditions treated or procedures performed.

Provides online data for more than 6,000 hospitals.

This tool, from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, allows users to find information on how well hosptials care for patients dealing with certain medical conditions or undergoing certain medical procedures.

The Leapfrog Group's hospital comparison tool allows you to compare overall patient safety ratings and the safety of specified procedures at health care facilities. The tool allows you to search for individual facilities or by city or region.

this tool, provided the U.S. Department Of Health and Human Services' Medicare division, offers detailed information about every Medicare and Medicaid-certified nursing home in the country

The American College Health Association is a Silver Spring, Maryland-based organization of college health professionals throughout the United States.

ACHE is the professional membership society for healthcare executives.

A Web portal for healthcare professionals