Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks in the MacPhaidin Library: eBooks on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary)

Information about how to obtain e-books in the MacPhaidin Library

About the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

To get started with accessing and downloading e-books from the eBook Collection, you will need to create a username and password with the eBook Collection:

  1. Open the eBook Collection and click the Sign In button in the top toolbar towards the right.
  2. If you've previously created an account, enter your username and password.  If not, click Create A New Account towards the top.
  3. Fill out all the necessary information to create a username and password.

To download e-books, you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer with a valid Adobe ID.  If you haven't downloaded Adobe Digital Editions or created an Adobe ID yet, you can do so by referencing the Adobe Digital Editions page.

Searching for Downloadable Materials from the eBook Collection

Publishers set forth restrictions on which titles can be downloaded, so not all titles available on NetLibrary may be downloaded for patron use.  If you want to search for titles that can be downloaded, you'll first have to log in to the eBook Collection using the username and password you've created.  Once you are logged in, you can use the Download Available search option to limit your search to titles that can be downloaded:

Searching for titles that can be downloaded

Downloading Materials from the eBook Collection

Downloading materials from the eBook Collection is rather simple.  Titles can be downloaded for a time period set forth by the publisher (different publishers have different loan periods).  Make sure you are logged in to the eBook Collection using your username and password you created.  After you've finished searching for titles and found one that can be downloaded, you can either click on the Download link either directly from the search options as pictured below:

Download the title

If you clicked on the title to view a detailed description, you can still click on the Download link on the left hand column of the page to download the title.

 

A pop-up will appear where you will have to select the length of the checkout period in the drop-down box.  The maximum checkout period will show by default in the drop-down box.  Once you're satisfied with the loan period, click the Checkout & Download button:

Set the checkout period and then download

 

Depending on your browser settings, Adobe Digital Editions will open once the download is complete.  If not, double-click on the file to open in Adobe Digital Editions. 

Title in Adobe Digital Editions

Removing NetLibrary Titles from Adobe Digital Editions

Whether your checkout period has expired or you are finished using a downloaded title from NetLibrary, it is simple to remove it from Adobe Digital Editions.  Simply open Digital Editions and make sure you are in "library/bookshelf view" (if not, click the library/bookshelf view button in the top left corner).  Click on the arrow of the title you wish to delete, and then click delete:

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.

If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.

Additional Resources

Further assistance with accessing and downloading e-books is available from the eBook Collection Support.

You can reference the following videos from EBSCO that provide further information about downloading e-books from the eBook Collection:

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility